How bring ASI174MM in focus with PST solar telescope

Use this section to discuss "standard" Baader/Coronado/ Lunt SolarView/ Daystar, etc… filters, cameras and scopes. No mods, just questions/ answers and reviews.
Jordan Konisky
Im an EXPERT!
Im an EXPERT!

How bring ASI174MM in focus with PST solar telescope

Post by Jordan Konisky »

My query relates to focusing my PST40 while using it with a ZWO ASI174mm video camera. To bring the system into focus I use a 2X Barlow lens (bottom only) screwed on to the nose of the camera. As discussed elsewhere in this forum, this solves the problem of bringing this camera into focus with the PST 40. While this works ok, I have found that to bring the solar edge into sharpest focus, requires that I rotate the focusing knob clockwise as far as it will go, that is, until it is tightened down all the way. I would prefer that the position of the knob at edge-focus would provide me flexibility on both the counterclockwise and clockwise sides of the focus point. The ability to move across the focus in both directions would give more confidence in establishing the best focus. Any suggestions on how I might further adapt my setup to address this issue would be greatly appreciated.

Jordan -
SkyWatcher ED100 Refractor with Diamond Steeltrack Crawford Focuser
Celestron CG4 Equatorial Mount
Daystar Quark H-Alpha Chromosphere
Lunt CaK B1800 Filter Module
Lunt White Light Solar Wedge
ZWO ASI174MM, ZWOASI1600MM Cameras
marktownley
Librarian
Librarian

Re: How bring ASI174MM in focus with PST solar telescope

Post by marktownley »

Hi Jordan,

Get a shorter nosepiece for the camera.

Mark

http://brierleyhillsolar.blogspot.co.uk/
Solar images, a collection of all the most up to date live solar data on the web, imaging & processing tutorials - please take a look!
PDB
Almost There...
Almost There...

Post by PDB »

Mark,