Quark vs Lunt

Use this section to discuss "standard" Baader/Coronado/ Lunt SolarView/ Daystar, etc… filters, cameras and scopes. No mods, just questions/ answers and reviews.
rray6
Im an EXPERT!
Im an EXPERT!

Quark vs Lunt

Post by rray6 »

I currently do my solar imaging with a Lunt 80mm THa PT DSII scope and for the most part, I love it. My biggest complaint is that I do imaging/observing in two different locations (1000 miles apart) so I am constantly having to transport the scope. I have been noticing some beautiful work on this forum using the Quark Daystar filters and wanted to see if I can get a discussion going about the pluses and minuses of Quark and maybe even a quality comparison with Lunt (preferably 80 mm) solar scopes. In general, I am looking to move to a more portable instrument but one that does not sacrifice image quality. I already have an 80mm APO refractor and a 132mm APO refractor so I could easily adapt a Quark filter to my imaging routines. My only concern is that, in order to do this, I would need to sell my trusty Lunt. Looking for advice from the experts... Thanks.

-Robert

Robert Ray
Last night as I lay in bed looking up at the stars in the sky, I thought to myself -- "Where the heck is the ceiling???"

www.redshift48.com
Lunt LS80 DSII B1800 f/7
WO 132mm f/7
Celestron 9.5 Edge HD f/10
Stellarvue 80mm f/7 Raptor SVR80ST2
WO Z73ii f/5.9 APO
Lunt CaK B1800 Filter and Baader Herschel Wedge (Photo)
PGR Grasshopper 3.0 (ICX687 - mono)
Player One Apollo M-Max IMX432
ZWO ASI178MM and ZWO ASI174MM with filter wheel
SBIG STT8300M
ZWO ASI2600MC-P
Canon 5D Mark IV and Canon Rebel T7i
AP 1200GTO (Permanent) and iOptron CEM60EC and CEM25EC Mounts
rsfoto
Way More Fun to Share It!!

Re: Quark vs Lunt

Post by rsfoto »

Hi,