New here / My eclipse story and images

Post anything eclipse related!
DamienCannane
The Sun?
The Sun?

New here / My eclipse story and images

Post by DamienCannane »

Hi everybody,

This is my first time on this forum, so I thought I'd introduce myself.

After much coveting, I finally took the plunge yesterday. I bought my first H-alpha telescope: a Coronado SolarMax ii 60!! I couldn't be more excited for it to arrive. So I'm here to learn as much as I can about this niche area of astronomy. I've never so much as even looked through an H-alpha telescope...this will all be new for me.

The only significant solar imaging I've done to this point was on August 21, 2017. All of my eclipse photos came out pretty much like I hoped they would. I'll share my eclipse story and then my images. :)

I first read about the eclipse more than 20 years ago as a space-crazed child in the reading room of the Massillon (Ohio) Public Library. It was something I tucked away into a corner in the back of my mind. Someday, I was going to do whatever it took to witness this great spectacle.

Fast forward a couple of decades, and I still live in northeast Ohio, which would only receive about 85% lunar coverage. So, early this Spring, I set about trying to convince my wife that taking a road trip to America's heartland was a reasonable use of resources and vacation time. We're normally beach vacationers, so this wasn't an easy sell! But I was able to wear her down over time, and we were in agreement by July that this was something we would do. We would travel the American highways in pursuit of the moon's shadow!