Max recommended duration of video capture to freeze small scale details?

this is the main message area for anything solar :)
AJamesB
Im an EXPERT!
Im an EXPERT!

Max recommended duration of video capture to freeze small scale details?

Post by AJamesB »

Not sure on the rules for linking other forums so I won't link it, but in the cloudynight solar forum someone posted a 30min timelapse of the current sunspot in h-alpha. What amazed me the most was just how much small scale movement and change there was just in a fraction of the duration of the timelapse, both on the larger structures but even more so on the small surface details.

This got me wondering, given all that small scale rapid movement, what the consensus is on the max recommended duration a single video capture should be (that is meant for a single image, not a time lapse) when working at higher resolutions? At times my captures have been up to 3-4 minutes long when using sharpcap's 'seeing monitor function' (only records frames that exceed a user defined sharpness level that is measured in real time), and after seeing just a second or two of that time lapse I'm thinking that's likely way too long to avoid surface movement. Should I be aiming for less than 2 minutes? 1? Less than 30 seconds? Curious what others have come to see in regards to this.

I've also heard that one should have the capture speed at 10ms or less to avoid atmospheric blurring, is that also correct?

Thanks in advance for any input!

Lunt ls100tha single stacked + hinode solar guider on ioptron cem26 mount
asi178mm
asi294mm
2x, 3x, and 4x telecentrics
0.6x and 0.4x telecompressors
JochenM
Way More Fun to Share It!!

Re: Max recommended duration of video capture to freeze small scale details?

Post by JochenM »