Realworld difference between C8 and C11 h-alpha levels of detail with excellent seeing?

this is the main message area for anything solar :)
AJamesB
Im an EXPERT!
Im an EXPERT!

Realworld difference between C8 and C11 h-alpha levels of detail with excellent seeing?

Post by AJamesB »

Hello, quick question for the community. I'm in a locaiton with routine excellent seeing (on maui with Haleakala about 40min away), and wanted to add a high resolution option to my solar imaging to complement the lunt 100. The two main options are either a c8 or c11, with accompanying aries DERF. I all ready own a c11 edge, and do not own a c8 edge (would want the edge for addition of fans for internal current stabilization). So, I'd either be buying a c8 edge + DERF, or simply a derf for the c11, which last I checked was about twice the price of the c8 derf. So, the two options in the end are not too dissimilar in total price, since the rear h-alpha etalon will be the same for both (likely a solar spectrum observer 25mm, unless people have suggestions for similar quality options there?)

So my main 2 questions, for those that have imaged or viewed h-alpha through both a c8 AND and c11, are 1) how would you compare the fine detail difference between the two? Was it "omg the difference it night and day!", "ya, there is a noticeable difference", or simply more of "ya, if I look hard I can tell a difference but its miminal..."? The dawes/raleigh limit between the 2 in resolving ability is in theory only about 0.2 arcseconds, but I'm unsure of how this would play out in real life. Meteoblue has the top of Haleakala routinely at 0.2-0.5, so in theory there could be a difference, but not sure if other factors (outside of things like collimation and the like) reduce the real world views between the 2 a lot, or if there is a noticeable difference you see bewteen both?