Looking for source(s) for CaK Blocking Filter(s)

this is the main message area for anything solar :)
Mooncakes4All
The Sun?
The Sun?

Looking for source(s) for CaK Blocking Filter(s)

Post by Mooncakes4All »

Hello to all,

I'm very new to solar astronomy, and in need of learning in all spectra, but the first thing I need is to get my CaK scope rigged up for operations. It's a 70mm Coronado Cak SolarMax, and my understanding is that the CaK blocking filter (b/f) is not functional. So, I either need a new one, or need to have the existing one fixed. Given that I don't know anything about this item, I don't know if it's repairable, on not.

Would anyone here know of a retail source for CaK blocking filter that would work properly with the Coronado SolarMax 70mm scope? I read that Coronado b/f's allow proper functioning if used on a Lunt solar scope, but that the Lunt b/f's won't provide a safe viewing situation when used on a Coronado scope; so, I'm wondering if there's a proper solution to get this SolarMax CaK scope operational, or not.

Thanks for reading my post, and for any information you might be able to provide!

Tim

marktownley
Librarian
Librarian

Re: Looking for source(s) for CaK Blocking Filter(s)

Post by marktownley »

Hi there and welcome to the forum.

Not really familiar with the scope directly, if you post some pictures of the failed components it will help to diagnose a fix.

Mark

http://brierleyhillsolar.blogspot.co.uk/
Solar images, a collection of all the most up to date live solar data on the web, imaging & processing tutorials - please take a look!
Montana
Librarian
Librarian

Post by Montana »

A very warm and sunny welcome Tim. Have you bought this CaK Coronado second hand and were told it doesn't work or have your tried imaging with it and it doesn't work? a little more detail would be really useful to help. Can you post a picture of what the blocking filter looks like?

Alexandra

Bob Yoesle
Almost There...
Almost There...