Comparison between 8bit avi, 8bit ser, and 16bit ser when doing single capture of proms and disc

this is the main message area for anything solar :)
AJamesB
Im an EXPERT!
Im an EXPERT!

Comparison between 8bit avi, 8bit ser, and 16bit ser when doing single capture of proms and disc

Post by AJamesB »

Edit - seems there's likely something else going on, since others don't have any quality degradation in 8bit, so I'll just leave this up as an example of caution when drawing conclusions from small sample sizes:)

The following is good and common knowledge had all ready by many here, but I was curious exactly what the different would be since files captured in 16bit ser can take up a lot of disc space, even more so when capturing 100+ of them for a time lapse.

So, I'm kind of lazy and don't like to do 2 separate captures to make a solar image that has both the disc and the proms visible, so I prefer to expose to the disc, and then stretch that single image in post processing to bring out the prominences that way. The following photos were taken back to back to back on the asi294+4x telecentric in bin2 mode. All videos were the same ROI of 2072x1410. No sharpening/deconvolution or anything else has been done to them. Seeing wasn't great so they are the best 15% of 500 frames. Final images were cropped down to the prom.

First, the 8bit avi capture, who's total size was 1.36GB:

Stark and harsh cutoffs in gradient are easily noticeable in the prom, and not much detail is visible in it, its just sort of uniformly blandly grey with a blotchy appearance. Decent mount of noise visible as well. Disc looks as it normally does when exposed correctly-ish.

Next, the 8bit in ser format, with total size of 1.37GB:

Pretty much identical to the 8bit avi, a touch blurrier but that's likely due to rapid variation in moment to moment seeing. So, if you are set on recording in 8bit, avi can save you a little (but not much) disc space.