Full disc capture from the 25th of April on Haleakala

this is the main message area for anything solar :)
AJamesB
Im an EXPERT!
Im an EXPERT!

Full disc capture from the 25th of April on Haleakala

Post by AJamesB »

So, I made it up to the top of Haleakala again for some more testing of seeing. Direct comparisons are hard, since you can't be 2 places at the same time, but this was try number 4, so I'm at least seeing a pattern. And I'm realizing that, at least in the daytime, the seeing in the valley between the mountains, even though at see level, seems to be better than the seeing at 10,000 feet, maybe since its after the air has been forced up the side of and across the top of the volcano? You certainly get above most of the clouds though, something that is not the case when in the backyard. I have one more spot to try to verify, but thus far the back yard seems to have the steadier/calmer/better seeing, even though there is 10k feet more atmosphere to look through. Who'd of thought, lol. I'm guessing night time, when the winds tend to be calmer everywhere, is likely a different story up there, I'll get to testing that later.

Lunt 100 with asi290mm bin1 and no reducer. Attempted using the 4x telecentric but the image was just too blurry to be of any use. There were a few glimpses of moderate seeing, but no more detail than was had in the full disc capture with no telecentric.

And a pic of the observatory on top of Haleakala, too bad they don't do public tours there, would be fun to check out!

I did get my first taste of 'public outreach' though. Being set up behind the car (using it as a wind break) drew a good amount of attention from those walking by, so I got to do my first bit of public outreach/demonstration/education, which was kind of fun! I'm normally fairly socially averse, being a bit on the spectrum, but it ended up being fun to share in person vs just online, so that was cool.