C8 + PST?

Frankenscope? Let's see it!***be advised that NOTHING in this forum has been safety tested and you are reading and using these posts at your own peril. blah, blah, blah... dont mess around with your eyesight when it comes to solar astronomy. Use appropriate filtration at all times...
Wah
Im an EXPERT!
Im an EXPERT!

C8 + PST?

Post by Wah »

Hi all,

I have thought of modifying my C8+PST to achieve higher resolution solar images.
Before buying big ERF, I used a 40mm mask in front of C8 to see if it can focus well.

After the test, it can focus with C8+PST. But it seem the sweet spot become very small, which is unexpected for me, because the system is f/50, which is much slower than original PST lens.

Could anyone tell me what's wrong with the system?
Thanks!

Wah!

swisswalter
Way More Fun to Share It!!

Re: C8 + PST?

Post by swisswalter »

Hi Wah

interesting. Have you some pics, also from the setup

Only stardust in the wind, some fine and some less fine scopes, filters and adapters as well. Switzerland 47 N, 9 E, in the heart of EUROPE :)

from 7 am - 7 pm http://www.nanosys.ch

from 7.01 pm - 6.59 am http://www.wastronomiko.com some times vice versa ;)
Valery

Post by Valery »

The rule of thumbs tell us that if the internal etalon has 0.7A FWHM the sweet spot has the angular diameter
of d/D degree. Where the "d" is etalon diameter and the "D" is telescope aperture diameter.
If the FWHL is narrower, the sweet spot is also narrower.

Let define, that the PST etalon has these 0.7A FWHM. The sweet spot will be 1/10 degree in diameter or
1/5 of the solar disk diameter. And this is the ideal case. Any misalignment in optics will makes the sweet
spot size smaller.

When you stop your telescope by off-axis mask you also stops the working size of the etalon in the same
proportion and so, the sweet spot size will remain the same - about 1/5 of the solar disk or smaller.

Hope this helps.

Valery.