Quark DSII 155mm

Frankenscope? Let's see it!***be advised that NOTHING in this forum has been safety tested and you are reading and using these posts at your own peril. blah, blah, blah... dont mess around with your eyesight when it comes to solar astronomy. Use appropriate filtration at all times...
george9
Im an EXPERT!
Im an EXPERT!

Quark DSII 155mm

Post by george9 »

Reporting on my experience inserting a Lunt DSII into my Quark optical train:

Baader 160mm D-ERF and cell
AP 155EDF f/7 with 4" focuser
Precise Parts AP 4" to Lunt 78mm adapter (0.25" thick)
Lunt DSII intended for LS80
Lunt 78mm to Feathertouch adapter
Feathertouch 2" focuser
AP 2" extension (borrowed from Barlow)
DayStar Quark Chromosphere model
DayStar 2" top for Quark
AP Maxbright 2" diagonal
AP 2"-to-1.25" adapter
Denkmeier II binoviewer with PowerSwitch at neutral (middle)
Denkmeier 21mm eyepieces

It produces very high contrast, similar to my Lunt LS80 DSII. Tuning was easy and not too sensitive to exact positioning. The view is noticeably darker, but not too dark to view. Normally in my very nice, narrow Quark, I see very little in poor seeing other than proms and the most obvious disk detail. With the new double stack, the filaments and other structure pop out even in terrible seeing. Hopefully, I will get some better seeing soon.

The sweet spot is significantly narrower, probably only half the field of view. I need to do more experimentation with spacing. The AP 4" focuser and PP adapter place the DSII about an inch or two too far from the objective even when that focuser is all the way in, and that may be part of it. Perhaps a DSII for the LS100, which has a longer nose, would work better.

I think the D-ERF is sufficient to protect the DSII. I can put my hand where the DSII is indefinitely with just some warmth.

George

GUS
Way More Fun to Share It!!

Re: Quark DSII 155mm

Post by GUS »

Thanks George, any chance of an image of the setup.

george9
Im an EXPERT!
Im an EXPERT!