Solar mod using a double stack etalon?

Frankenscope? Let's see it!***be advised that NOTHING in this forum has been safety tested and you are reading and using these posts at your own peril. blah, blah, blah... dont mess around with your eyesight when it comes to solar astronomy. Use appropriate filtration at all times...
hopskipson
Im an EXPERT!
Im an EXPERT!

Solar mod using a double stack etalon?

Post by hopskipson »

I've been running this idea around in my head and have wondered if anyone has tried this and if it turned out successful. I was thinking of using a Lunt pressure tuned etalon for their 80mm scope (https://luntsolarsystems.com/shop/solar ... ck-module/ ) and adapting it to be modular to fit refractors or SCT's. Besides adapters to attach to the different scopes is there anything that should go before the etalon? I have a full aperature DERF for the SCT would I need an IR blocking filter for the refractor? I'm thinking of using the Andover blocking filter after the etalon (656.3nm Bandpass Filter, FWHM 1nm, 25mm dia. 656FS02-25). Is this adequate? I know with the PST mods that the etalon needs to be 200 mm before the focal plane, will there be a similar offset using the Lunt? I was considering the PST but my luck with finding a good one is about 0% :lol: If this works out maybe I'll try to double stack it with a PST or my Quark. Thanks for reading and if you can offer any insight I would greatly appreciate it!

James

James
These pretzels are making me thirsty! (C.C.)
The Quark introduced me to this wonderful side of the hobby and the sun hasn’t disappointed yet.
Solar Equipment: Solar Spectrum RG-18 0.3A, Coronado Solarmax 90mm etalon Isle of Man SN-001, Tuscon SN-380 and Meade SM2, Lunt LS80 DS, Quark Chromosphere, Lunt 2" wedge, 2-Lunt CaK II 1200, Baader 3.8 and 5.0 solar film in 208mm cells, and 3D printed Sol'Ex SHG, Lunt 40mm
Coming Soon: Solar Spectrum CaK II <1A filter
marktownley
Librarian
Librarian