How good is the SW solar quest tracking wise?

Use this section to discuss "standard" Baader/Coronado/ Lunt SolarView/ Daystar, etc… filters, cameras and scopes. No mods, just questions/ answers and reviews.
daniele_bonfiglio
Im an EXPERT!
Im an EXPERT!

How good is the SW solar quest tracking wise?

Post by daniele_bonfiglio »

Hello, I am thinking of buying this mount for solar imaging. Presently I am using a SW AZ-GTi mount but the daytime tracking accuracy is poor and so it needs almost constant supervision to correct for drifts. On the other hand, I would like to have something that could run basically without supervision for a long time in particular for time lapses animations. Do you advise this mount? By the way, how easy is "navigating" the sun with the integrated buttons when doing solar close ups? The mount description says that it tracks the sun center but of course I guess that you can track any portion of the sun including its limb, correct?
Thanks a lot and best regards,
Daniele
PS I could probably increase the accuracy of my AZ-GTi, as typically a simply "point and track" the sun even without any alignment. But I doubt that in any case the daytime alignment accuracy could allow for precise tracking of the sun for a relatively long time. I cannot align by night and leave the mount outside for doing solar the next day.

Solar scopes: Daystar Solar Scout DS 60/930
80mm f6 achromatic refractor with Daystar Quark from the Solar Scout
Scope: Skywatcher Maksutov-Cassegrain 127/1500
Mount: Skywatcher AZ-GTi
Camera: Fujifilm X-T30
Instagram: @daniele.bonfiglio.astropics
TareqPhoto
Almost There...
Almost There...

Re: How good is the SW solar quest tracking wise?

Post by TareqPhoto »

I am in the same boat as you, in fact i did ask about the mount part in my thread if you follow it or check it out, but the Admin Mark already told me to just try to learn with AZ-GTi instead.

marktownley
Librarian
Librarian

Post by marktownley »